Komen Maryland Honors Supporters at Annual Awards Ceremony

March 22, 2018:  Susan G. Komen Maryland recognized outstanding supporters from 2017 at its annual Appreciation and Awards event at MedStar Franklin Square Hospital. Awards were presented to top fundraisers, sponsors, volunteers, and breast health providers at the event.

“These supporters are at the heart of Komen Maryland’s mission to save lives,” said Michael Jessup, Komen Maryland Executive Director.

And the winners are:

The Maryland Affiliate Award is given to a supporter of two years or more who exemplifies the courage, strength and determination of Susan G. Komen.

2018 recipient: Jay Brignac


The Volunteer Award is given to a volunteer who has performed a high level of volunteer service and commitment during the current year. This award honors the impact, time, and leadership performed by a volunteer.

2018 recipients: Caitlin Nicholas, Andrea Young


The Survivor Award is given to a survivor whose dedicated,  unique efforts benefit the breast cancer community.

2018 recipient: Faith Mauro-Huse


The Promise of One Award is given to a supporter serving with an Affiliate for a minimum of one year in recognition of an exceptional contribution.

2018 recipients: Hal Martin, Today’s 101.9 and Steven Hildner, Shoprite


The Pink Ribbon Business Partner Award is given to business, media sponsors or community organizations who display an extraordinary commitment to the Komen Maryland’s mission during the prior year. This commitment can be demonstrated through volunteer work, donations, support or sponsorship of Komen events and/or educational programs.

2018 recipients: Wegmans and The Daily Record


The More Than Pink Award goes to an individual or group who has turned awareness into action and made significant impact through their dedication to Komen Maryland’s mission.

2018 recipient: Garrison Forest School


The Robin Prothro Passion for the Promise Award is given each year to a medical provider on the front lines in the fight against breast cancer.  This person, possibly a clinician, nurse navigator, counselor, or researcher, will embody Robin’s commitment and passion for improving the lives of women with breast cancer and her determination to fulfil the Komen Promise to save lives and end breast cancer forever.

2018 recipient: Ben Ho Park, M.D., Ph.D.


The Vicki Margolis Award for Board Excellence is named for a dynamic member of the Komen Maryland family, and her many years of dedicated leadership on our Board of Directors inspired all who met her and worked with her.  This award will be given each year to a Board Member who exhibits passion and commitment to volunteer leadership and whose body of work as a Board Member has had a positive impact on the affiliate and its mission.

2018 recipient: Susan Forlifer, M.D.


The Jacqueline Chambers Advocate for the Underserved Award is named for Jacqueline Chambers, who as a Komen Maryland Board Member, spent many years advocating for women’s issues and passionately working with the African American community on women’s health specific to breast cancer.  This award will recognize an individual who works tirelessly to improve outcomes for low-income and uninsured women, women of color, and other underserved populations that face barriers to breast health care.

2018 recipient: Tori Lewitt, St. Agnes Hospital


The Impact Club includes those who raised more than $5,250 last year, which represents the number of women in Maryland who will be diagnosed with breast cancer in 2017.

2017 Impact Club:

Jay Epstien

Jon Laria

Kristin Connall

Debbie Shoul

David Marshall

Linda Sears

Chad Strzegowski


The Top Individual Fundraiser for the 2017 Baltimore Race for the Cure:

Debbie Shoul


The following 2017 Baltimore Race for the Cure teams raised the most funds in their respective categories:

Pirates in Pink

Family/Social Category


Team Janet

First-time Team Category


Crofton JFC – Rockin’ It For A Cure

Gym Category


Garrison Forest School

Schools Category


Team Harford Mutual for the Cure

Workplaces with fewer than 499 employees


Baltimore County Fire Department

Workplaces with more than 500 employees


The Top Individual Fundraiser for the 2017 Promise Ride:

Jay Epstien

The Top Team for the 2017 Promise Ride:

Ballard Spahr

For photos from the event, please visit our Facebook page.